The Lake Forest City Council consists of five Council members elected at large by Lake Forest voters to represent the entire City. Council members serve four-year terms, with terms staggered to ensure continuity of leadership and service. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem are selected by a vote of their peers annually at the first City Council meeting in December, to serve the following calendar year.

General Election - November 3, 2020

The City of Lake Forest will participate in the General Election on Tuesday, November 3, 2020 to elect two City Council members by district to four-year terms. This election completes the transition to district-based elections. The remaining districts in this process are District 1 and District 5. Candidates must be 18 years of age, registered to vote in Lake Forest, and have their primary residence within district boundaries. To verify the district in which you live, enter your address on the interactive map below.

Election Day Volunteer Opportunities

Lake Forest has several volunteer opportunities to assist with the electoral process. Opportunities include: