Current Projects and Recent Decisions

Updated as of February 17, 2017

Most appeals are effective 15 days after the date of the City’s Notice of Decision unless an appeal is filed.

Administrative approvals by the Director of Development Services may be appealed to the Planning Commission. Planning Commission decisions may be appealed to the City Council. Any appeal must set forth in writing the specific grounds for the appeal and be directed to the City Clerk. Refer to the Municipal Code for more information regarding the appeals process, or contact the City Clerk at (949) 461-3420.
For information on a specific project, please contact the planner assigned to that project.
Planner Title Phone Email
Gayle Ackerman
Director of Development Services (949) 461-3463 gackerman@lakeforestca.gov
Niki Wetzel Planning Manager (949) 461-3479 nwetzel@lakeforestca.gov
Ron Santos
Senior Planner (949) 461-3449 rsantos@lakeforestca.gov
Marie Luna Senior Planner (949) 461-3466

mluna@lakeforestca.gov

Amy Stonich Contract Senior Planner (949) 461-3466 astonich@lakeforestca.gov
Kirt Coury
Contract Associate Planner (949) 461-3472 kcoury@lakeforestca.gov
Amanda Lauffer
Assistant Planner (949) 461-3491 alauffer@lakeforestca.gov
Bryan Tung Planning Intern (949) 461-3496 btung@lakeforestca.gov

Current Projects


For a list of projects that the Planning Division is currently processing, click here.
  

Recent Decisions



The table below is a list of recent decisions and corresponding appeal periods, when applicable.
Case No. Planner Approving Body Description Location Applicant Status
SDP 10-16-4976/PSP 01-17-4992 RS Planning Commission Five-story, 112 room, 68,740 sq. ft. Towneplace Suites by Marriott Hotel/Wall and monument signs including a Sign Code exception for 2 and 3 lines of copy of lieu of 1 line of copy. 23150 Lake Center Drive Don Cape,
​Tharaldson Hospitality Group
Approved on February 9, 2017. Appeal period to end on February 28, 2017.
CP 1-17-4995 KC Admin Change Lot 38 from Teton (Plan 2) to Grand Teton (Plan 5) in the Lexington at Parkside Development. 245 Bryce Run Rachel Lenz, Toll Brothers, Inc. Approved on February 9, 2017. Appeal period to end on February 27, 2017.
SDP 6-16-4936/PSP 11-16-4983 ML Planning Commission New 5-story, 102 room hotel (Springhill Suites by Marriott) and a planned sign program for hotel signage. 23600 Rockfield Boulevard (Lake Forest Gateway Shopping Center) Don Cape, Tharaldson Hospitality Development Called up for review by City Council.  Public hearing scheduled for February 21, 2017.